Latest News

NESI-SES Association presents Innovation Awards

Posted on 2/17/2017 by Larry Mattox SU

The NESI-SES Association recently recognized individuals and organizations for their innovation in the energy sector. The first annual NESI-SES Innovation Awards reflect the association’s commitment to promoting collaboration and cooperation among all stakeholders.

“This year’s recipients represent the heart of innovation through strategic investments in physical resources as well as investments in shaping the energy sector,” said Gary Clark, President of the NESI-SES Association.

The NESI-SES Association recognized CoBank for their innovative role in empowering its consumer-owners to invest in next-generation renewable energy projects, and helping to create a cleaner, more sustainable world. CoBank is a major provider of credit and financial services to the nation’s rural energy sector. CoBank’s customer-owners include hundreds of rural electric generation, transmission and distribution cooperatives that deliver power to millions of people in rural communities around the country. CoBank supplies financing to independent power producers that develop and build power facilities.

The Association’s Utility Innovation Award was presented to Western Farmers Electric Cooperative. Western Farmers Electric Cooperative (WFEC), a generation and transmission cooperative, is joining other utilities in the solar energy realm, where oil and gas have been king for many years. Both utility-scale projects, as well as community solar projects, will be a part of WFEC’s new solar venture.

Oklahoma’s Secretary of Energy and Environment, Michael Teague was selected for the Association’s Government Innovation award. Prior to Sec. Teague’s appointment, he served in the U.S. Army for nearly 30 years before retiring with the rank of Colonel. Throughout his career, Teague has dealt with power generation and distribution, water desalinization, and environmental impact studies. He has facilitated and negotiated numerous solutions regarding federal and state agencies, tribes, and local stakeholders and has acted as a liaison between the Tulsa District and the United States Congress.

GE Global Research was selected for the Association’s Corporation Innovation award. In 2016, GE opened a new Oil & Gas Technology Center in Oklahoma City. The Oil & Gas Technology Center will provide a present and future glimpse of promising new technologies in the pipeline for the oil and gas industry. The center will become a central hub for GE scientists and engineers to closely collaborate with the oil and gas industry on cutting-edge digital and hardware solutions to advance the industry.

Oklahoma State University professor Dr. Jamey Jacob was selected as the Association’s Research Innovation award recipient. Jacob is a professor of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering with funded research in aerospace applications from DARPA, AFOSR, SOCOM, NASA, NextGen/Aeronautics, General Electric Aircraft Engines, Boeing and others. He received his B.S. in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Oklahoma in 1990 and his M.S and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California at Berkeley in 1992 and 1995, respectively. He was a National Research Council Summer Faculty Fellow in the Air Force Research Laboratory at WPAFB in both 2003 and 2004. He is currently the Ray and Linda Booker Professor in Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering at Oklahoma State University.

The NESI-SES Association congratulates this year’s winners for their work to shape policy, advance technology, enable solutions, engage stakeholders and increase skills and competencies.

Media Access

Request media access to items such as:
• Press releases
• Photos
• Board member photos and bios